" />

2018 MIVA Awards Announced

2018 MIVA Awards Announced

The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has announced the 2018 awards. As selected by the eight head coaches in the conference, Ohio State senior outside hitter Nicolas Szerszen has been named the MIVA Player of the Year for a third consecutive season. Loyola setter Garrett Zolg has been named the MIVA Freshman of the Year while Loyola head coach Mark Hulse has been named the MIVA Coach of the Year. The 2018 All-MIVA Teams and All-Freshman Team were also announced.

Szerszen becomes the first student-athlete in league history to win the Player of the Year Award three times. In league play, he was fifth in kills per set (3.52) and sixth in attack percentage (.391). His 24 aces (0.52 per set) in league play led all student-athletes. He earned a pair of MIVA Offensive Player of the Week honors this year.

Zolg averaged 10.46 assists per set in league play, second in the conference. He also added 2.10 digs per set. He guided a Rambler offense which hit .310 on the season. Zolg is the first Rambler to win the award since 2013 when Thomas Jaeschke earned the honor.

Hulse wins MIVA Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. The third-year skipper helped the Ramblers to a co-regular season MIVA title this year.

Player of the Year: Nicolas Szerszen (Ohio State)
Coach of The Year: Mark Hulse (Loyola)
Freshman of the Year: Garrett Zolg (Loyola)

2018 All–MIVA First Team
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio St. – Sr. – OH
Sanil Thomas, Ohio St. – Jr. – S
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio St. – Sr. – OH
Garrett Zolg, Loyola – Fr.  – S
Ricky Gevis, Loyola – Sr. – Opp
Collin Mahan, Loyola – Jr. – OH
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola  – Sr. – MB
Matt Walsh, Ball St. – Sr. – MB
Michael Simmons, Lewis – Jr. – L
Ryan Coenen, Lewis – So. – OH
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne – So. – OH
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree – Sr. – MB

2018 All–MIVA Second Team
Blake Leeson, Ohio St. – Jr. – MB
Jake Hanes, Ohio St. – Fr. – RS
Mitch Weiler, Ball St. – Sr. – OH
Jake Romano, Ball St. – So. – S
Mitch Perinar, Lewis – Jr. – RS
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis – Jr. – S
Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – Fr. – MB
Michael Keegan, Fort Wayne – Jr. – S
Tomas Gago, Fort Wayne – Fr. – MB
Nolan Rueter, McKendree – Sr. – OH
Ryan Vorderer, Lindenwood – Sr. – L
Adam Brewster, Lindenwood – Jr. – S

2018 All-Freshman Team
Jake Hanes, Ohio St. – RS
Garrett Zolg, Loyola – S
Ben Chinnici, Ball St. – OH
TJ Murray, Lewis – MB
Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – MB
Tomas Gago, Fort Wayne – MB
Patrick Ross, McKendree – OH