" />

2017 MIVA Awards Announced

2017 MIVA Awards Announced

The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has announced the 2017 awards. As selected by the nine head coaches in the conference, Ohio State junior outside hitter Nicolas Szerszen has been named the MIVA Player of the Year for a second consecutive season. Ball State outside hitter Matt Szews and Lewis outside hitter Ryan Coenen were both named Freshman of the Year. Ohio State's Pete Hanson has claimed Coach of the Year. All-MIVA Teams were also announced as well as the inaugural All-Freshmen Team.

Szerszen, who was the 2016 MIVA Player of the Year, is the 10th individual in league history to twice earn the honor. In league play, he was second in the conference in kills per set (3.37) and attack percentage (.404). His 38 aces (0.68 pet set) in conference play led all student-athletes. He was named the MIVA Offensive Player of the Week and AVCA National Player of the Week on Jan. 10. He helped the Buckeyes to a perfect 16-0 record in league play. 

Szews was third in the league in conference play with 3.57 kills per set. He hit .242 while recording 1.81 digs per set. He recorded 22 double-digit kill matches including a season-high 23 vs. Grand Canyon.

Coenen shares the Freshman of the Year honor with Szews due to a tie in the voting. Coenen hit .295 with 3.20 kills per set, sixth best in the league. He was named the MIVA Defensive Player of the Week on March 21. He had 20 double-digit kill matches. Coenen is the second consecutive Flyer to earn the honor as Mitch Perinar earned the award last season.

This is Hanson's 13th MIVA Coach of the Year honor. His No. 2 in the nation Buckeyes finished the 2017 regular season 27-2 and 16-0 in the MIVA. 

All-MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State - OH - Fr.
Matt Walsh, Ball State - MH - Jr.
Ryan Coenen, Lewis - OH - R-Fr.
Mitch Perinar, Lewis - OPP - R-So.
Michael Simmons, Lewis - L - R-So.
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis - S - So.
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola - MH - Jr.
Christy Blough, Ohio State - S - Sr.
Miles Johnson, Ohio State - OPP - Sr.
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio State - OH - Jr.

All-MIVA Second Team

Connor Gross, Ball State - S - Sr.
Cullen Mosher, Grand Canyon - OH - R-Jr.
Drake Silbernagel, Grand Canyon - MH - Sr.
Ben Plaisted, Loyola - OPP - Jr.
Collin Mahan, Loyola - OH - So.
Wyatt Patterson, McKendree - MH - Sr.
Maalik Walker, McKendree - OPP - Sr.
Gabriel Domecus, Ohio State - L - Sr.
Driss Guessous, Ohio State - MH - R-Sr.
Jarrod Kelso, Quincy - MH - Jr.

All-MIVA Honorable Mention
Brendan Surane, Ball State - S - Sr.
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne - OH - Fr.
Sky Engleman, Grand Canyon - L - Jr.
Michael Milstein, Grand Canyon - S - Sr.
Jacob Schmiegelt, Lewis - MH - R-Sr.
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood - MH - So.
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood - MH - Fr.
Pasquale Fiduccia, McKendree - S - Jr.
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree - MB - R-Jr.
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio State - OH - Jr.

All-Freshmen Team
Matt Szews, Ball State - OH
Nick Lavanchy, Ball State - L
Pelegrin Vargas, Fort Wayne - OH
Ryan Coenen, Lewis - OH
Kyle Bugee, Lewis - OH
Sam Schindler, Lindenwood - MB
Ian Cowen, Loyola - S