" />

2018 Preseason All-MIVA And Preseason Poll Announced

2018 Preseason All-MIVA And Preseason Poll Announced

Defending two-time national champion Ohio State has been selected by the league's coaches to win the 2018 Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association championship, according to the 2018 Preseason Poll released on Thursday (Dec. 14).

Ohio State earned six of a possible eight first-place votes for 61 total points. Lewis (54 points) edged Ball State (50 points) for the second spot. Ball State, however, earned two first-place votes. Loyola (43 points), McKendree (30 points), Lindenwood (22 points), Fort Wayne (20) and Quincy (8) round out the poll.

Reigning two-time MIVA Player of the Year Nicolas Szerszen is the 2018 Preseason Player of the Year pick. He is joined on the 2018 Preseason All-MIVA Team by teammates Maxime Hervoir and Blake Leeson. However, it is Lewis which earns the most nods on the preseason squad. Juniors Mitch Perinar, Michael Simmons and Matt Yoshimoto are joined by sophomore Ryan Coenen. Yoshimoto is the only setter on the squad. Simmons is the only libero named to the team. Loyola earned a pair of nods, in senior middle blocker Jeff Jendryk and junior outside hitter Collin Mahan. For Ball State, senior middle Matt Walsh picked up a mention as did sophomore outside Matt Szews. McKendree senior middle blocker Brendan Schmidt rounds out the squad.

2018 Preseason Poll
Ranking Points (1st place votes)
1. Ohio State 61 (6)
2. Lewis 54
3. Ball State 50 (2)
4. Loyola 43
5. McKendree 30
6. Lindenwood 22
7. Fort Wayne 20
8. Quincy 8

2018 Preseason All-MIVA Team
Nicolas Szerszen, Ohio St. – Sr. – OH *
Maxime Hervoir, Ohio St. – Sr. – OH
Blake Leeson, Ohio St. – R-Jr. – MB
Jeff Jendryk, Loyola – Sr. – MB
Collin Mahan, Loyola – Jr. – OH
Matt Walsh, Ball St. – Sr. – MB
Matt Szews, Ball St. – So. – OH
Ryan Coenen, Lewis – R-So. – OH
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis – Jr. – S
Mitch Perinar, Lewis – R-Jr. – OH
Michael Simmons, Lewis – R-Jr. – L
Brendan Schmidt, McKendree – R-Sr. – MB


* 2018 Preseason Player of the Year